Packing for a Business Trip

img_2701

Packing for a business trip can be a daunting task. I’m attending my first solo business trip this week, and it was much more difficult to pack than I expected. The pressure is on to look professional when representing your company or business. It took me a while to figure out what the proper attire would be for a business conference. Here is what I came up with:


Shift Dress

  • A shift dress in a suiting material is a great option. It’s simple and professional, without wearing a full suit. You can always throw a blazer over it if you’re not sure how dressed up you should be. I plan on wearing a shift dress both days of the conference. Since it will take place in an air-conditioned hotel, I will also bring a cardigan for each day. Work appropriate shift dresses should fall at knee length and be or at least resemble suiting material.

 

Black/Nude Leather Heels

  • A great pair of leather heels in a neutral color is a must. I usually wear flats to the office, but decided that heels would be dressier and more professional for the conference. After pulling out my black pumps, I realized that they were about 10 years old and pretty worn from my clubbing days, so I needed a new pair. Work appropriate heels should be low and comfortable to walk in. Also stick to leather or suede, as patent leather can look inappropriate, depending on the industry that you’re in.

Handbag/Tote

  • A great work bag is a must-have accessory. A leather tote is always a great option – It can hold all of your work supplies (laptop, pad-folio, etc.) as well as your personal items (wallet, phone, etc.)

Neutral Makeup

  • As far as makeup, I will stick to neutral daytime colors. I figure that interview appropriate makeup will be best. I want to look classy, professional, and age-appropriate. My go-to look is light eye makeup (eye shadow, mascara, and no eyeliner) and a somewhat bold lip. I tend to look younger than I am and want to be taken seriously when representing my company, so the proper makeup and hair is very important.

Attending a business conference can be a little intimidating, but with the right look, you will exude confidence. Packing the right apparel and accessories is very important. I hope that this list will help my fellow-professional women on their next business trip!

0b672521da7309a1f790a55f8cfb2444

Leave a Reply

