For the Love of Burgundy

img_4073

I’ve been in search of the perfect Burgundy accessory for years. With the majority of my wardrobe being neutral, I really wanted to add the color in the form of an accessory – a bag, pair of shoes, etc. Shades of Burgundy/Oxblood/Wine/Bordeaux red are always hot for the fall season, but have become extremely popular in the last few years. Oxblood red appeared on the fashion scene in 2012 with leather jackets and other apparel and accessories. I started my first semester at the Fashion Institute of Technology in January of 2012. When Spring Fashion Week rolled around, I was taking Fashion Merchandising and learning how to become a retail buyer. I started following trends and learning how to forecast for the next season. The first thing that I noticed during the designer showings was the use of the oxblood color in garments and accessories. I immediately fell in love with it. By the time Fall Fashion Week came around, it was all over the runways with everything from edgy leather to feminine chiffon pieces. Since then, shades of oxblood apparel and accessories have remained consistently on trend. The 2015 Pantone color of the year was the similar red-brown shade of Marsala.


At the time that the color became popular, I was in school, living in New York City, and didn’t have the money to spend on clothing and accessories. I had a couple of garments in the color, but really wanted to add it in the form of an accessory. I love the color on leather or faux leather pieces. My husband owns a pair of oxblood leather boots that he wears to gigs, and I am in love with them. I have been in search of the perfect burgundy leather bag for years now. Many are very expensive and if I was going to splurge, it had to be the perfect one. I kept coming across the same bags every year – designers like Michael Kors and Kate Spade release leather goods in this color every year, but I’m not a fan of pieces that have a brand name or label clearly marked on them. I have always loved the style of specialty retailer, J. Crew. They recently released the perfect fall burgundy bag. When I saw the Ryder bag in Italian Leather, I ordered it immediately. It is so stylish – the Dark Wine color is the shade that I have been looking for, and the brass hardware adds to the richness of the bag. See product details below:


The Ryder Bag in Italian Leather – by: J.Crew

Size & Fit

•6 3/4″H x 9 1/8″W x 3″D.

•22 1/2″ adjustable strap.


Product Details

Meet Rider, our equestrian-inspired bag that’s crafted in Italian leather with custom-developed hardware. Complete with an adjustable strap (that converts it to a crossbody, a shoulder bag or a handbag) and lots of pockets, it’s one of our new favorite ways to carry things around for fall. Bonus: You can also make it your own with a monogram or our collection of leather accessories—think key fobs, customizable tags and more.

•Please note: Monogramming is only available for US customers.

•Leather.

•Buckle closure.

•Inside pocket.

•Import.

Shop it: Here

Photo and description were taken from the J.Crew website: Here


0b672521da7309a1f790a55f8cfb2444

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

