How to Make Fall Table Garland

img_4666

With Thanksgiving coming up, I wanted to share my alternative idea for a decorative table centerpiece. I love making and using garland as a table runner – It is a fun, easy, and inexpensive way to decorate your table for holidays and events! The garland table runner that I made for my Friendsgiving event came out so beautifully, that I wanted to share a post on how I did it! Enjoy!


 

Fall Table Garland

Supplies:

  • 1 Bouquet of Eucalyptus (per 6 feet of table length)
  • 6 Small Pumpkins (per 6 feet of table length)
  • Candle Holders & Votives or Pillar Candles
  • Hand Picked or Store Bought Decorative Plants/Twigs/Grasses

Directions:

  • The first thing that I did was gather all of the supplies that I needed. I purchased two bouquets of eucalyptus from my florist – each bouquet was enough for six feet of garland. I also purchased a variety of small pumpkins in different sizes and colors. Both the eucalyptus and pumpkins were very inexpensive and easy to find.

  • Next, my friend and I went out to a park near our office and gathered some different plants, twigs, and grasses to add to the garland. They sell these items in stores like Michaels Crafts, but if you don’t want to spend the money on them, explore the area around you and see what you can find outside! Just be sure that you are aware of native plant laws in your state before cutting anything down!

    img_4528


  • I had a set of gold mercury glass candle holders and votives from my wedding that I wanted to add into the mix. Pillar candles would’ve also looked gorgeous, but I didn’t want to spend the money on them, so I just used what I had on hand.

    img_4913


  • Once I gathered all of the supplies, I started to layer them down the center of the table. I used tablecloths in a neutral tan color, so the garland would be the main source of color and texture on the tables. I started with the eucalyptus, and snipped off the stems that had a lot of leaves. I started to layer them down the center of the table, making sure that there would still be enough room to set it. After that, I placed the pumpkins on top of the eucalyptus about one foot away from each other and in no particular order. I added two candle holders in between each pumpkin and the additional twigs and grasses in between.

    img_4712


The garland came out beautifully and couldn’t have been any easier to make! I love the mix of texture and color that it added to my holiday table! I hope you enjoyed this easy fall garland DIY! Hope everyone has a safe and happy Thanksgiving! See more photos below!

0b672521da7309a1f790a55f8cfb2444

Leave a Reply

